top of page
Search
  • moba3602

Reading Blog #4

Parts of this reading were super interesting and offered some inspiration for the upcoming project. I really enjoyed reading the portion regarding jodi.org. I actually went to the website http://404.jodi.org and was SUPER confused but kind of loved it. It felt like a puzzle and I had no idea what I was doing or what it meant but the more I played around with it the more I discovered. I still don’t understand a lot of it though but after reading more about it, I understood a bit more that this was “hacking” and just computer language. This was interesting and made me curious about the coding going on behind the screen and when this was made. I don’t know why but imagining coders making humor and almost messing with people when the internet was super new makes me laugh, I have a hard time picturing that for some reason… Moving on, I also was shocked at the part about cyberlaw and “gender play”. This seems like the dawn of catfishing, but intentional or known, and the power of acting as someone else on the internet, which is crazy. The article used the term “cyber rape” which is also interesting to think that existed 20 or 30 years ago. I wonder if this caused any eyebrows to raise about the dangers of the internet so early on, and if there were any efforts to prevent this from happening or ways the internet could work that didn’t allow this sort of thing.








3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page